ANZ Virtual Internship Experience

ANZ Virtual Internship Experience

Intro

I am writing this article to share my experience on completing a virtual internship program by ANZ.

This article comprised of 3 parts, what I have done during the virtual internship program , benefits of joining this internship and conclusion and recommendation. Without further ado, let's get started.

Manage your Expectation

Particularly, this program has 2 tasks designed by ANZ for you to complete, namely Exploratory Data Analysis and Predictive Analytics which I will explain the details further in the following paragraphs.

Each task will have video instructions from actual employees from ANZ, along with resources (links to dataset and tableau website) to help you complete the work. Please take note that you will have to complete the first task (Exploratory Data Analysis), then only you can proceed to the second task (Predictive Analytics).

1. Exploratory Data Analysis

First and foremost, I was given a synthesised transaction dataset containing 3 months’ worth of transactions for 100 hypothetical customers. It contains purchases, recurring transactions, and salary transactions. The dataset is designed to simulate realistic transaction behaviours that are observed in ANZ’s real transaction data.

Then, as mentioned earlier on, there was a video instruction to guide me through what to do with the dataset, what insights should I draw from the dataset. I basically jotted down and listed all the questions/instructions in the video instruction and complete one by one.

In short, the questions/instructions comprised of basic data checking, data cleaning, segmentation of data, data visualization etc. A noteworthy part is that you are not restricted to use a specific tool or programming language, instead you are free to use any data analysis tools, programming languages that you are familiar with. I was using python to complete the task.

After I have done, I was required to submit my work by uploading on to the website itself. It took me about 1 week to finish the task on an average of spending 1 hour per day. The image below shows the submission section.

Capture.PNG

As soon as I have completed the task submission attempt, there was a sample model work done at ANZ for me to download. The sample model work was written in R language. Then I could compare and cross checked on the results and insights obtained and tried to understand the code by the professional and learn along with the sample model work.

By that time, I was led to the second task, Predictive Analytics.

2. Predictive Analytics

For task 2, basically it's an extension from task 1 whereby you have to construct a Machine Learning Model to predict the annual salary of the customers.

There was a video instruction to guide me on the steps to complete the task as well. As I was using python in task 1, therefore I used python as well to ensure the continuity of the task flow. Just like task 1, as soon as I have completed the task, I proceeded to upload my work through the website and unlocked the sample model work done by ANZ. I have spent around 1 week to finish task 2 on an average of spending 1 hour per day.

After completing both task 1 and task 2, an e-certificate of completion was ready to download and this marks the end of my virtual internship with ANZ. The image below shows the e-certificate of mine.

Capture.PNG

Why I Joined

  1. This virtual experience program is 100% free

  2. It will only take you about 4-6 hours to complete, however, there is no time limit therefore, you can complete at your own pace.

  3. It is a great chance for people to gain hands-on experience in data science.

  4. After completion you will be awarded a digital certificate of completion that you can share in your CV and resume as well as on your LinkedIn profile to showcase real-world skills you have learnt

Final Thought

In a nutshell, this virtual internship comprised of 2 parts: firstly, Exploratory Data Analysis where you find interesting insights about the dataset, and secondly, Predictive Analytics, where you build your Machine Learning Model to do predictions.

In total, I have spent about 2 weeks to complete this virtual internship, 1 week for each task respectively, with an average of spending 1 hour per day (which is equivalent to about 14 hours), I believe for those who have previous experience in data science field would have done it a lot faster.

Therefore, if you are eager for some real world exposure of data science hands-on experience and need something to build your CV and resume, then this program is highly recommended.

Reference:

i) ANZ Data@ANZ Program Virtual Internship

ii) Virtual Internship Report Reference